EU lifts ban on nonessential travel for US residents

The European Union lifted travel restrictions for U.S. residents on Friday, in the latest step toward restoring lucrative transatlantic airline routes despite concerns over the spread of potentially dangerous coronavirus variants.

Albania, Hong Kong, Lebanon, Macau, North Macedonia, Serbia and Taiwan were also added to a so-called “white list” of countries from which nonessential travel is allowed. However, the UK is not present on that list. The new rules will take effect within days, as soon as they are published in the Official Journal of the EU.

Some EU countries already allow vaccinated Americans to visit. Inclusion in the white list means restrictions on fully inoculated U.S. residents will now be lifted across the bloc. Member states also have leeway to grant entry to unvaccinated visitors from white-listed places without requiring a quarantine. The

Next Post

Minnesota Jobs, Hourly Wages Grow During May

Sat Jun 19 , 2021
(KNSI) – Minnesota’s employment outlook continues to improve as the pandemic recedes, but the latest jobs report from the Department of Employment and Economic Development shows the state hasn’t yet regained all of the jobs lost in spring 2020. In May, the state gained 14,800 private sector jobs, marking the fifth […]