COVID: Germany restricts travel to Russia, Portugal | News | DW

Germany has classified Portugal and Russia as so-called coronavirus variant countries, and banned most arrivals from those countries.

Beginning Tuesday, only citizens and residents of Germany will be allowed to travel to Germany from Portugal and Russia.

Those allowed to enter from Russia and Portugal will be subject to a two-week quarantine, regardless of whether they can provide a negative COVID-19 test.

Both Russia and Portugal are currently reporting a surge in cases over the delta variant of the coronavirus.

Worries over delta becoming dominant variant

German health authorities have issued repeated warnings about the delta variant, which was first detected in India and is prevalent in Britain.

Robert Wieler, who heads the disease control agency Robert Koch Institute (RKI), has said the delta variant is expected to become the dominant strain in Germany by the autumn.

Portugal and Russia join a list that includes 14 other countries, including the UK, India, South Africa and Brazil, where highly transmissible variants have been spreading.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Emmanuel Macron on Thursday urged fellow EU leaders to take a firm line on travel from Britain to prevent the variant spreading in the bloc

kbd/sri (AFP, Reuters)

Next Post

New Zealand pauses trans-Tasman travel bubble with Australia over Sydney COVID-19 outbreak

Sat Jun 26 , 2021
New Zealand is fully closing the trans-Tasman travel bubble with Australia for at least three days following the worsening COVID-19 outbreak in Sydney and other areas of Australia. It says quarantine free travel from all Australian states and territories will be paused until 11.59pm (NZT) on Tuesday, June 29. NZ […]